A rant about my F^(&!N boss!
Joe is my new boss. He's a 67 year old retired USAF Master Sergeant. And he's mean as hell. He's, according to his own words, a grumpy old man. Edinson says he's an angry old man - I don't think there's a word for grumpy in Spanish so Edinson uses angry. Either way it's an accurate description of him.
So why is he so mean, you may be asking yourself?
Well, for starters it's not normal for the boss to work LESS than the employees. We're scheduled (and paid) to work from 7 until 7. But he's often out the door at 3 in order to get drunk w/ his friends. This leaves me free to finish up everything that didn't get finished before he left including putting away all of the tools that he left out from whichever job he was working on.
It's very unfortunate (for me, at least) that he only does the interesting part of our job and not the boring stuff. There's been sh*t laying around the office for a month that he said he'd get rid of and still has yet to get to it. I suppose playing spider solitaire is more important than SOME work; but C'mon, let's get real.
Another thing that sucks is that I no longer receive upgrade training towards furthering my career. How can I ever become a manager if I never receive management training???
So is my boss really 'mean' or just really annoying me? I guess he doesn't do so many mean things like kick puppies or push people down stairs or anything - but he's certainly NOT the best boss I've ever had.
Well, perhaps here's an example of how he's 'mean': We have several guests on the island now - all gringos - who Joe is very friendly with. As gringos it's nice to get together with other gringos so we can speak in our native language and relate to each other on a similar level, which can be hard to do w/ a Colombian. Last night Joe went out with all the gringos in the area except me. Now, I don't mind not going to dinner. Where they went is an expensive restaurant and all they would have spoken about, I'm certain, is work or work-related topics. Well, I already spend 12 hours at this place, I don't need to spend 3 more in a bar talking about it. That's TOO much work time. It would have been nice to have had the opportunity to say 'no' to an invitation however. As it plays out the odds are that I wouldn't have said no because Lulu would have liked the social situation. So in this aspect, by not inviting us or "forgetting" to invite us he's 'mean'.
I get the feeling he has a strong disregard towards me. You can tell when someone has a negative stance towards you by the way they address you and speak to you. When that dialogue is filled with swear words and harsh tones I think it becomes pretty evident that you're not a desired commodity in their view. But if I weren't around HOW would all this work get done?
So that's it! That's my rant. I don't know if these things qualify him as mean but he certainly is old, though! Perhaps it is just my perception of the situation that is skewed from reality. I'd like to think so - but it's still possible he kicks puppies. I just wanted to put this down on screen in order to get it off my chest so I can go home to my wonderful and perfect girlfriend without having to carry it home to her - like I did last night. I'm sorry my Babie.

0 Comments:
Post a Comment
<< Home